Arsenal confirm Europa League squad as Mikel Arteta hints at debuts for three youngsters including Marquinhos

ARSENAL have confirmed their Europa League squad and it includes Marquinhos and three other potential debutants.

The Gunners start their European adventure away to FC Zurich this Thursday.


Arsenal fans are excited by the prospect of their new Brazilian wonderkid playing in the Europa LeagueCredit: Getty
Marquinhos has been named in match day squads but hasn't seen action yet


Marquinhos has been named in match day squads but hasn’t seen action yetCredit: Getty

The squad of 24 players was revealed on the official Uefa website on Monday.

And Brazilian wonderkid Marquinhos, 19 – whose debut fans are eagerly anticipating – is named on the list.

He made 33 first team appearances during his time with Sao Paulo and was a part of the squad which won the Compeonato Paulista in 2021.

Mikel Arteta and Edu began tracking Marquinhos several months before the summer window, after being alerted to his exploits in the Brazilian Serie A.

Arsenal win fallout, Glazers £3.75BILLION price tag
Win a Nissan GTR plus £1k or £36k alternative from 89p with our discount code

After forking out around £3million to acquire his services, Arteta may finally hand him some minutes in the Europa League.

Youngsters Matt Smith and James Hillson are also included.

American goalkeeper Matt Turner – also yet to appear for the North London club – is on the roster.

The Gunners, who were the first team to be drawn, are in Group A alongside Zurich, Norwegian outfit Bodo/Glimt and PSV Eindhoven.


Due to the World Cup in November, the six matches are crammed into three blocks of back-to-back gameweeks.

Those will be played on September 8, September 15, October 6, October 13, October 27 and November 3.

The final will take place on Wednesday, May 31 next year at the Puskas Arena in Budapest.

Here is Arsenal’s Europa League squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Aaron Ramsdale, Matt Turner, James Hillson

Defence: Ben White, Gabriel Magalhaes, William Saliba, Rob Holding, Cedric Soares, Takehiro Tomiyasu, Oleksandr Zinchenko, Kieran Tierney

Midfield: Thomas Partey, Martin Odegaard, Fabio Vieira, Albert Sambi Lokonga, Mohamed Elneny, Granit Xhaka, Matt Smith

Attack: Gabriel Jesus, Emile Smith Rowe, Gabriel Martinelli, Eddie Nketiah, Reiss Nelson, Marquinhos

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top